Fatherless Society Vote

Media Release

The Vote (NSW) to Promote a Fatherless Society Likely to Take Place within
24 Hours

On Thursday 2nd September, the Lower House of the NSW Parliament narrowly voted 46- 44 to support Clover Moore’s homosexual adoption bill, supported by Premier Kristina Keneally. The bill will go to the upper House on Tuesday the 7th of September and a vote taken within 24 hours.

Warwick Marsh, founder of Dads4Kids stated, “According to the Commsec State of the States report which was released April 2010, New South Wales has the worst performing economy in Australia, its trains don’t run on time and people are literally dying waiting to get into our overcrowded hospital system.  How can the Keneally government waste precious time tying up parliament while whole sections of the community are in such desperate need? We have 24 sitting days until the next election, so why waste time debating this bill when there are so many other important community issues still to be dealt with?”

Marsh said, “Fathers Day has been celebrated this Sunday and is a celebration of the importance of a father in a child’s life. The message NSW
parliamentarians who voted for this bill are giving is that Dads are not
important. Conclusive research proves this to be a lie. Children with
involved fathers are more confident, better able to deal with frustration, better able to gain independence and their own identity, more likely to
mature into compassionate adults, more likely to have a high self esteem,  more sociable, more secure as infants, less likely to show signs of depression, less likely to commit suicide, more empathetic, boys have been
shown to be less aggressive and adolescent girls are less likely to engage
in sex:

* 63% of teen suicides come from fatherless homes. That’s 5
times the national average. SOURCE: U.S. Dept of Health

* 80% of rapists with anger problems come from fatherless
homes. 14 times the national average. SOURCE: Justice and Behaviour

* 85% of children with behavioural problems come from
fatherless homes. 20 times the national average. SOURCE: Centre for Disease Control

* 71% of all high school dropouts come from fatherless homes – 9 times the national average. SOURCE: National Principals Association Report

* 75% of all adolescent patients in chemical abuse centres come from fatherless homes. 10 times the national average. SOURCE: Rainbows for all God’s Children

* 85% of all youths in prison come from fatherless homes. 20
times the national average. SOURCE: U.S. Dept. of Justice.”

Marsh continued, “The Dads4Kids Fatherhood Foundation calls on the mothers and fathers of New South Wales Australians everywhere to phone and email all members of the Upper House, MLC, or use the facility at
http://www.kidsrightscount.org.au to tell all the members of the upper house to vote ‘no’ to this bill when it comes up for vote next week. Fathers are important and children need both a mother and a father.”

Peter Walker, Aboriginal Elder of the Bundjulung tribe spoke to a capacity
crowd at a meeting in Parliament House, Sydney to protest against the
proposed Bill. Mr Walker said, “Children need a mum and dad. Aboriginal
culture is built around the family. Indigenous culture would never endorse
such injustice because within our culture children are greatly loved and
appreciated. This law is likely to create another stolen generation of
children and is simply unacceptable.”

Children Need a Mother & a Father
Contact the below listed NSW Parliamentarians

The parliamentarians who make a stand for children and families need our
support and those who don’t need to know that we care. Many people are too
busy with the challenges of life to become involved. Most never say
anything. As a result, in political circles there is an informal weighting
given to messages. It varies depending on who you hear it from, but it goes
something like this:

When no-one says anything, almost no-one cares.
For every email received, about 100 people care.
For every paper letter received, about 1,000 people care.
For every thoughtful phone call, about 5,000 people care.
For every person who visits, about 10,000 people care.
For every group that visits, about 50,000 people care
For every group that come back again, about 100,000 people care.

At the time of writing, NSW politicians had received 41,694 emails
concerning this legislation. To be a part of making it 60,000 in the next
few days, just use the Kids Rights Pollie-mail feature at the Australian
Christian Lobby.

Alternatively, you can use the details below to make more direct contact.

New South Wales Legislative Council (Upper House) MPs

Hon John Ajaka 02 9230 2111 –
john.ajaka@parliament.nsw.gov.au
Hon Robert Brown 02 9230 3059 –
robert.brown@parliament.nsw.gov.au
Hon Tony Catanzariti 02 9230 2837 –
tony.catanzariti@parliament.nsw.gov.au
Hon David Clarke 02 9230 2260 –
david.clarke@parliament.nsw.gov.au
Mr Ian Cohen 02 9230 2603 –
ian.cohen@parliament.nsw.gov.au
Hon Rick Colless 02 9230 2344 –
rick.colless@parliament.nsw.gov.au
Hon Catherine Cusack 02 9230 2915 –
catherine.cusack@parliament.nsw.gov.au
Hon Greg Donnelly 02 9230 2280 –
greg.donnelly@parliament.nsw.gov.au
Hon Amanda Fazio 02 9230 3593 –
amanda.fazio@parliament.nsw.gov.au
Hon Marie Ficarra 0419 241 579 –
marie.ficarra@parliament.nsw.gov.au
Hon Luke Foley 02 9230 3451 –
Luke.Foley@parliament.nsw.gov.au
Hon Michael Gallacher 02 9230 2302 –
michael.gallacher@parliament.nsw.gov.au
Hon Jenny Gardiner 02 9230 2903 –
jenny.gardiner@parliament.nsw.gov.au
Hon Duncan Gay 02 9230 2329 –
duncan.gay@parliament.nsw.gov.au
Hon Kayee Griffin 02 9230 2040 –
kayee.griffin@parliament.nsw.gov.au
Ms Sylvia Hale 02 9230 3030 –
sylvia.hale@parliament.nsw.gov.au
Hon Don Harwin 02 9230 3519 –
don.harwin@parliament.nsw.gov.au
Hon John Hatzistergos 02 9230 3463 –
office@hatzistergos.minister.nsw.gov.au
Dr John Kaye 02 9230 2668 –
john.kaye@parliament.nsw.gov.au
Hon Tony Kelly 02 9230 2528 –
sharon.armstrong@lands.nsw.gov.au
Hon Trevor Khan 02 9230 3491 –
trevor.khan@parliament.nsw.gov.au
Hon Charlie Lynn 02 9230 3362 –
charlie.lynn@parliament.nsw.gov.au
Hon Matthew Mason-Cox 02 9230 3572 –
Matthew.Mason-Cox@parliament.nsw.gov.au
Hon Shaoquett Moselmane 02 9230 2526 –
S.Moselmane@parliament.nsw.gov.au
Rev Hon Gordon Moyes 02 9230 3340 – gordon@gordonmoyes.com
Rev Hon Fred Nile 02 9230 2478 –
F.Nile@parliament.nsw.gov.au
Hon Edward Obeid 02 9230 3474 –
edward.obeid@parliament.nsw.gov.au
Hon Robyn Parker 02 9230 3332 –
robyn.parker@parliament.nsw.gov.au
Hon Melinda Pavey 02 9230 2977 –
melinda.pavey@parliament.nsw.gov.au
Hon Gregory Pearce 02 9230 2428 –
greg.pearce@parliament.nsw.gov.au
Hon Peter Primrose 02 9230 2763 –
peter.primrose@parliament.nsw.gov.au
Hon Christine Robertson 02 9230 2971 –
christine.robertson@parliament.nsw.gov.au
Hon John Robertson 02 9230 2152 –
john.robertson@parliament.nsw.gov.au
Hon Eric Roozendaal 02 9228 3535 –
enquiries@treasurer.nsw.gov.au
Hon Penny Sharpe 02 9230 2741 –
penny.sharpe@parliament.nsw.gov.au
Hon Mick Veitch 02 9230 2111 –
mick.veitch@parliament.nsw.gov.au
Hon Lynda Voltz 02 9230 2111 –
lynda.voltz@parliament.nsw.gov.au
Hon Ian West 02 9230 2052 –
ian.west@parliament.nsw.gov.au
Hon Helen Westwood 02 9230 2094 –
helen.westwood@parliament.nsw.gov.au

Dads4Kids Fatherhood Foundation
PO Box 542
UNANDERRA NSW 2526
Ph: 02 4272 6677
Fax: 02 4272 6680
Email: info@fatherhood.org.au
Web: http://www.fatherhood.org.au

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: