Song about the Stolen Generation

I recently attended a seminar and church service run by Geoff Bullock.  He is the songwriter who wrote the worship songs like Power of Your Love and The Great Southland.  It was inspiring to hear him perform many of his songs that I grew to love in my early years.  Songs like -The Heavens Shall Declare , You Rescued Me,  Just Let Me Say and The Power of Your Love.  He has also written some new songs and has a new CD available which has a more stripped back acoustic flavour.  He has also written a new third verse to Power of Your Love to reflect his growing relationship to the Lord. 

I remember many years ago I was asked to do an  impromptu performance of “Power of Your Love” with a full band, at a church I was visiting .  I had never even met the band before but they were skilled enough to follow me as I sang the words.  It was a heavenly experience which I ‘ve never really had again.  It is nice to sing with a full band, because then the music is able to expand and become bigger than it’s original form  if done well.

A song on Geoff’s new album which touched me deeply is “Eden’s Lonely Child” which is about the Stolen Generation.  I found this very moving .  You may need to listen to it a few times to understand the meaning of the lyrics. To purchase his new self titled album “Geoff Bullock” you can email him at :-contact@geoffbullock.com

To listen to his song “Eden’s Lonely Child” :-

1. Click on the following link http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=525135

2. Scroll down to Song 32 on the media player at the top of the page.

Here are the lyrics you can follow as well :-

Eden’s Lonely Child
Words and Music by Geoff Bullock
(c) Geoff Bullock 2008

Who am I ? A mother’s daughter, cherished child
Who am I ? A father’s son, his strength and pride
Inside of me,  A story fails to tell its tale
Alone am I,   Eden’s lonely child

Who am I ? Look beneath my coloured frame
Who Am I ? Now that history’s lost my name
I walk alone,  An Eve and Adam’s empty past
The garden’s gone

Chorus
And yet the parish books are full of fathers and their sons
Passengers and ships who sailed across the seas
But why is Eden’s child outside the garden walls
Her heritage unknown?

Who am I? Can your wisdom dull my pain?
Who am I?  While this land ignores its shame?
My family tree , a ghostly wood,  forgotten dreams
The forests gone,  Eden’s banished child

Chorus
And yet the parish books are full of fathers and their sons
Passengers and ships who sailed across the seas
But why is Eden’s child outside the garden walls
Her heritage unknown?

Bridge
Has Terra Australis become terra nullus,  this nation with no past?

Who am I? I am this land’s forgotten child
Who am I? Why must my pain be so reviled?
Our broken past,  we all must own this nation’s pain
The garden’s ours,  And all are Eden’s child
The garden’s ours,  And all are Eden’s child
So Who am I,  Who am I,  Who am I

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “Song about the Stolen Generation”

  1. 2010 in review « Bev’s New World Says:

    […] Song about the Stolen Generation November 2008 4 […]

Leave a Reply

