Songwriting and Arrangeing

I met one of my fellow teachers at another branch of the music school that I work at.  She explained how she had studied composing and had composed several orchestral arrangements which have been performed by an orchestra in Hong Kong.  I thought how wonderful it must be to create music for so many instruments  and have the thrill of hearing it played by professional musicians.  It would certainly be a wonder to behold.  She went onto say that she has produced a CD of these arrangements with lyrics for children and will be marketing it soon to Boosey and Hawkes. 

This interesting conversation reminded me a few years ago when I experienced the joy of having time to write songs and also dream up arrangements for them as well.  This is truly what I love doing as a musician and artist.   It is the thrill of being able to create something out of nothing and produce a piece of music which can be enjoyed by myself and others (with the help of the Holy Spirit).

It is my great hope that I will one day be able to have the time to write music again.  This is a big reason why I would like to find a full time Music Marketing Business Manager who can help me to promote my music to the public so that I can spend more time creating music and perhaps performing it with a professional live band now and then as well.  As the lyrics of Don Moen’s worship song says:-

“God can make a way where there seems to be no way, He works in ways we cannot see, He will make a way for me”

I realise that in one of my blog posts I have a list of prayer points which includes my interest in getting airplay on TV Commercial Radio and the Press.  It may appear that I am on an extensive ego trip.  However the reason I would like to make a few music videos and show them on TV is that I feel I would be able to reach a wider audience in a shorter period of time with the gospel message.  Also early in my music career,  I decided that the only way to make a somewhat decent living out of music would be to become very well known and close to famous.  Otherwise I would have to settle on living in abject poverty which is never easy for anyone.  Music seems to be my main occupational talent,  so I realised I would really have to make a good go of it,  in order for me to survive.  Hope this makes sense.

Notional Nonsense:  IMPROVISATION – What you do when the music falls down

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

